Sikh, Sikhi, Sikhism, Singh, Kaur, Sikh website,
Advertising Promotion & Publicity in Delhi India
Sikhism website
Home Sikh History Sikh Misls Home Sitemap ~ a complete portal on Sikhism
Sikh Guru Sahib
Takht Sahib
Sikh Gallery
Punj Piare
Punj Kakkar
Sikh Nitnem
Sukhmani Sahib
Shabad Kirtan
Barah Maha
Sikhism & Rituals
Sikh History
Sikh Stamps
Sikh Baby Names
Sikh Life Style
Music in Sikhism
Travel Route Maps

Sikh Stamps : Sikh Thematic Philately : Indian Philately ~ a complete portal on Sikhism

Sikh History

Sikh History: Sikh Misls

The Arabic word misl means 'like'. The Sikh misls were 'alike', in the sense that they were considered equals. The Misls were twelve companies of Sikhs , some numbering a few hundred while others could field tens of thousands of men. Each Sikh was free to join any Misl he chose, and every Misl was free to act in any way it wished in the area under its control. Only matters affecting the community as a whole were they to take orders from the Supreme Commander Nawab Kapur Singh (see picture in Gallery). It is estimated that the total force which the Dhal Khalsa (army of veterans) could put in the field was about seventy thousand Sikhs.

The misldhar system was ideally suited to the conditions of the time and worked well under leaders like Nawab Kapur Singh and Jassa Singh Ahluwalia. It combined freedom of action with the discipline of a unified command; it channelled the energies of the fiercely independent Khalsa soldier in the service of a cause which he held dear - the expulsion of hostile foreigners from the Punjab and the fulfilment of the prophecy of Guru Gobind Singh Ji of the establishment of a Sikh state.

Twelve Sikh Misls

1.   Ahluwalia Misldhar - Jassa Singh Ahluwalia, who also became the supreme commander of all the Misls.
2.   Bhangi Misldhar - Hari Singh of village Panjwad, also Bhuma Singh.
3.   Dhallewalia Misldhar - Gulab Singh of the village Dhalliwal.
4.   Fyzullapuria Also known as Singhpuria. Misldhar - Nawab Kapur Singh, one time commander of all the Misls.
5.   Kanhaya Misldhar - Jai Singh of the village Khanna.
6.   Karora Misldhar - Karora Singh of the village Paigarh.
7.   Nakkai Misldhar - Hira Singh of the village Baharwal, situated in a tract near Lahore called Nakka.
8.   Nishanwalia Misldhar - Dasundha Singh, the standard bearer (nishanwala) of the Dhal Khalsa.
9.   Phoolkia Misldhar - Ala Singh of Patiala district.
10.   Ramghariha Misldhar - Nand Singh, later controlled by Jassa Singh Ramgharia. Name Ramghariha was taken after winning a major battle near the village of Ramghar.
11.   Shaheed Misldhar (Commander) - Baba Deep Singh. The name Shaheed (martyr) was taken after Baba Ji's death in the defence of the Harminder Sahib (Golden temple).
12.   Sukerchakia Misldhar - Naudh Singh from the village Sukerchak near Gujranwala. Naudh Singh was the father of Charhat Singh Sukerchakia whose grandson , Ranjit Singh became the first Sikh Maharaja of the Punjab.

Sikh History Photo Gallery : S. Baghel Singh Ji - Entering in Delhi (11 March 1781)

Sikh Gallery: Sikh History Photo Gallery

Landscape & Travel Photographer in New Delhi India
Landscape & Travel Photographer in New Delhi, India ~ a complete portal on Sikhism
Sikh Sikhi Sikhism : ~ a complete portal on Sikhism
Home | About Your Privacy | Terms of Service | Disclaimer | Advertise with Us | Contact Us | Sitemap 2001 - 2019.
Website Designed, Developed & Maintained by  
Website Designing in Delhi, India

Sikh Sikhi Sikhism : ~ a complete portal on Sikhism